It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Why I think Universal Basic Income UBI is a great idea

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:
+1 more 
posted on Sep, 24 2017 @ 08:11 PM
link   
I've been an engineer for 32 years. There are no "right" decisions. There are only different sets of trade-offs. Every engineering decision that goes into a product produces a different set of pluses and minuses as a result.

The same thing is true with politics. This is what I believe our founding fathers meant by "a more perfect Union". Every law passed helps some people but hurts others. No law ever passed is perfect. There are laws that enslave men and there are laws that set men free. No law is without a set of trade-offs and different set of unintended consequences. Not having a law can also have its own set of trade-offs and unintended consequences.

With this in mind I think having a UBI is a good idea. UBI would create more commerce and more culture. I think ultimately, our goal as a people should be to develop and create a more interesting culture. Culture is what makes life worth living. For example, the Olympics serve absolutely no real purpose for humanity. But people spend huge amounts of money and time attending the Olympics because they are interesting and fun. I think having a UBI would help create more interesting culture. People would have enough money to train for the Olympics.

I don't think our goal as a people should be to win the game of monopoly by forcing everyone else into poverty. I think the goal of our people should be more like the game "Settlers of Catan". In the game Settlers of Catan the way the game is won is by which team has the built up the most resources. Resources are built through trade with other teams.