It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Was there ever a time when GIANT insects were a reality?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 4 2008 @ 03:30 PM
link   
I was watching the movie King Kong the other day and it made me very curious.

There is the whole scene where the crew travels to Skull Island to search for the giant ape, but ends up in a remote rainforest inhabited by these nasty looking giant insects of all variety....see partial video clip below

Now I realize this is only a movie full of Hollywood makeup and CGI effects, but I have to stop and wonder. Was there ever a time, perhaps during the pre-historic age of the dinosaurs or even earlier...where giant flying and land insects roamed the Earth?

Im no scientist by any means (which is why I am asking for educated opinion here) but it would seem that if the smaller reptiles of today all evolved or were descended from dinosaurs and other reptiles that were enormous, the tiger is a descendant of the massive Sabre Tooth cats, the Ox and elephants etc are descendants of the giant mammoths and related beasts......wouldn't natural evolution dictate that at some point the distant cousin to the beetle, the cockroach and the mosquito must have inhabited the Earth...and were likely much larger?

Think of it....giant ants the size of dogs.....moths the size of a house. Could it have happened?

How likely is it that there were once bugs the size of compact cars crawling along the landscape?.....Pretty creepy but fascinating to consider.

posted on Dec, 4 2008 @ 03:37 PM
link   
If I recall right the late Paleozoic era.

Discovery

It was due to the high levels of oxygen in the air back then.

posted on Dec, 4 2008 @ 03:54 PM
link