It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

cooking oil as diesel

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:09 AM
link   
As A few here on ATS know already I deliver kitchens for a living,more and more I am hearing rumours of diesel engines running on anything from sunflower oil to vegetable oil?

In was wondering if any of the more chemically minded of our members could give me any more infomation on this?

1. Does your engine need any modifacations?

2Is any specielist equipment needed?

3 if so is it easy to build and operate?

4 would the miles per gallon be the same?

5any other details you may have ...cheers Kuhl

[edit on 7/9/2006 by kuhl]

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:23 AM
link   
you can use cooking oil in diesel engines but it must be filter and thinned down a bit first, you will need to change your fuel filters more often as well.

there are various sites that give info on how to do this like this one here i havn't tried this myself so if you do it's at your own risk
also not sure what country/area your from but in the uk you are still expected to pay the fuel duty on this and they can tell which cars are using it by the fact that they smell like a chippy going down the road

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:27 AM
link   
Thanks solid sho ,I am aware of the taxation laws in the UK ,didn't know about the chippy smell though ty m8.

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:56 AM
link   

posted by kuhl
I am hearing rumors of diesel engines running on anything from sunflower oil to vegetable oil? In was wondering if any of the more chemically minded of our members could give me any more information on this?
1. any modification?
2. special equipment needed?
3. easy to build and operate?
4. miles per gallon be the same?
5. any other details you may have ...cheers [Edited by Don W]