It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

I have a question - why does god want people to kill?

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 6 2013 @ 09:38 PM
link   
Hello ATS.

I am not a ‘religious person’. I have been to church but I do not attend a service on a regular basis, usually for funerals and weddings. I have never read the bible, too boring, but I have limited knowledge of its contents.

Never in my life have I held or even seen a Koran so I know less about the Muslim religion than of the Christian religion.
(The above statements are meant as a background not to cause an argument or to offend any true devoted followers.)

Now to the point of this thread....

The way I understand it murder or killing another person is considered a sin in Christianity, I assume there is something similar in the Muslim religion but I’m not positive.

Why then are so many murders committed in the name of a GOD? Not every war but many have begun under the guise of a religion.

Is there anyone here who can explain to me why a good, loving, caring god would ask or want a follower to kill another person because that person has different beliefs?

(I’m not going to be convinced if you answer “an eye for an eye”. )

Thanks for your time and please forgive my ignorance.

edit on 6-4-2013 by billy565 because: (no reason given)

posted on Apr, 6 2013 @ 09:43 PM
link   
reply to post by billy565

Is there anyone here who can explain to me why a good, loving, caring god would ask or want a person to kill another person because that person has different beliefs?

He wouldn't...

This really comes down to which "God" you believe in... and there are many in the bible...

Though there is only one true God...

The rest are creations of...

posted on Apr, 6 2013 @ 09:44 PM
link