It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

What happened to IT staff having some grasp of technology?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 30 2009 @ 02:59 PM
link   
These days I work as a support engineer for a company that provides an advanced email solution. I take pride in my work, and for the most part, so do my coworkers. Every one of us is expected to know and understand the technology that we are supporting. Why does it seem that the IT staffs of our various clients have no idea what they are doing? I mean, seriously, I could understand if they were calling for real issues, but most of the time, it's for stuff that they should know. It seems that a lot of companies are hiring IT staff using the criteria of "Can you dial support?" instead of "Can you actually handle the job?"