It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

MASSIVELY upgraded LHC Ready to hunt down MYSTERY Dark Matter Particles

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 20 2015 @ 01:45 PM
link   
I'm not an expert on this area. But I'm posting just for informational purpose.
-----------------------------------

An upgraded, more powerful Large Hadron Collider, slated to begin returning to service next month, should open the door to new realms of physics, including possibly a glimpse of so-called “dark matter” particles, which, along with an equally mysterious dark energy force, dominate the universe.

Dark matter is so named because it does not emit or absorb light -- or any other electromagnetic radiation. Its presence is inferred by how its gravity impacts stars, galaxies, dust and other visible matter.

Scientists calculate that ordinary, visible matter accounts for about 5 percent of the universe. The rest is dark matter and a repulsive force called dark energy, which is accelerating the universe’s expansion.

“What we know about dark matter is that it exists, and then very little after that,” physicist Michael Williams, with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, told Discovery News.

www.disclose.tv...
edit on 21/2/15 by masqua because: trimmed big quote and added a link

posted on Feb, 20 2015 @ 01:52 PM
link   
a reply to: Abednego

I predict they will find no mysterious "Dark Matter particles" (I think the secret of dark matter is to be solved with particles already discovered) - but I hail their try! I will be happy to be proven wrong.

S&F

posted on Feb, 20 2015 @ 03:11 PM
link   
a reply to: swanne